Tirhuta Unicode Block

The Unicode Tirhuta block is a dedicated section within the Unicode Standard, which is used for encoding characters from the Tirhuta script. Tirhuta is an abugida script primarily used for writing the Maithili language, spoken in parts of India and Nepal. The Tirhuta script is notable for its distinctive characters and is traditionally written from left to right. This Unicode block provides a standardized way to represent Tirhuta script characters in digital text, enabling the digital documentation and preservation of Maithili and other languages that use this script. It was included in the Unicode Standard to facilitate the digital representation and exchange of Tirhuta script-based content across various computing platforms and applications.

View a range of fonts that support the Tirhuta block.

Below you will find all the characters that are in the Tirhuta unicode block. Currently there are 82 characters in this block.