Tamil Unicode Block

The Unicode Tamil block, also known as the Tamil Script block, is a dedicated section within the Unicode Standard used for encoding the Tamil script, which is primarily employed for writing the Tamil language, as well as several other languages in South India, Sri Lanka, and Southeast Asia. This block was introduced to ensure proper representation and interchange of Tamil text in digital documents and communication. The Unicode Tamil block includes a range of characters that cover the Tamil alphabet, consonants, vowels, diacritics, numerals, and various special symbols used in Tamil writing. It provides a standardized encoding system for computers and digital devices, allowing for the consistent display and processing of Tamil text across different platforms and applications. This Unicode block plays a crucial role in preserving and promoting the Tamil language and its diverse literary and cultural heritage in the digital age. It enables the development of Tamil-language software, websites, and content, facilitating communication and information exchange for Tamil speakers worldwide.

View a range of fonts that support the Tamil block.

Below you will find all the characters that are in the Tamil unicode block. Currently there are 72 characters in this block.